Sharon Lynn receives City Manager of the Year Award

September 28th, 2018

Known for going above and beyond as a leader of the community, Rehoboth Beach City Manager Sharon Lynn has been recognized as City Manager of the Year by the Delaware League of Local Governments (DLLG). Lynn was presented the award September 27, 2018, at the DLLG Annual Dinner and Awards Meeting in Dover. The award is presented by the DLLG each year to acknowledge Delaware managers who have made exceptional contributions to their community and profession. Lynn has over 20 years’ experience in local government administration, and she began her public service career as a police officer. She received the award for her energy, focus, and determination, which have all helped transform the City of Rehoboth Beach since 2014 when she assumed the position of city manager. “I am honored to receive this award from my colleagues,” said Lynn. “Major city projects are true team efforts and are a tribute to the talented staff, hardworking elected officials and caring, dedicated members of the community. Receiving this award reminds me of how lucky I am to be part of this community.” Under Lynn’s leadership, the city has successfully completed a new city hall, an ocean outfall project, the Lake Avenue streetscape project, beach nourishment, and a staff classification and compensation study. Her accomplishments also include the implementation of the MUNIS enterprise resource planning solution. The system consists of human resources and fiscal management applications. “We are very proud of the exceptional work Sharon does for the City of Rehoboth Beach and are pleased she has been recognized across Delaware as a top government professional,” said Rehoboth Mayor Paul Kuhns. “Having such incredible talent at the helm, as well as an outstanding staff team has made an immeasurable contribution to the success of our city,” added Mayor Kuhns. “Working together, we are able to accomplish great things for our community.” Recipients of the award are credited with strengthening the city management form of government through their stable length of service to cities; dedication to the civic activities; and participation in, and contribution to the DLLG. 

(l-r) Commissioner Stan Mills, DLLG President Lew Killmer, City Manager Sharon Lynn, Senator Tom Carper