DNREC Rehoboth Outfall Permitting Project Team Receives 2018 Governor's Team Excellence Award

May 13th, 2019

For their dedicated work and success in making Delaware state government more innovative and efficient, Governor John Carney announced seven award recipient's for this year's Governor's Team Excellence Award Program. The Governor's Team Excellence program honors outstanding teams at three different levels of recognition:

GEAR-P3 Innovation & Efficiency Award:
This top award recognizes teams with the highest levels of performance excellence. It honors teams that not only use continuous quality tools to achieve outstanding outcomes but also develop innovative designs and process, establish best practices, and produce verifiable results that are sustainable, scalable, and adaptable to other areas of government. These teams serve as clear role models for other organizations.

The Champions Award:
This award recognizes teams that demonstrate superior knowledge of continuous quality improvement techniques and have produced tangible results that have led to increases in efficiency, customer satisfaction, or cost savings.

The Commitment Award:
This award recognizes teams that demonstrate a commitment to developing and applying quality improvement tools and techniques and achieving results that lead to continuous improvement in their organization.

The Rehoboth Outfall Permitting Project Team received the Commitment Award. The team was recognized for their commitment, effort, and growing use of quality improvement techniques. 

Rehoboth Outfall Permitting Project Team
Dept. of Natural Resources and Environmental Control

Tasked with assisting the City of Rehoboth Beach through the permitting process of a major wastewater construction project, this team took a collaborative and innovate approach that involved combining and streamlining processes as well as working across divisions and federal agencies to remove traditional barriers. Their approach saved the project’s stakeholders time and effort, decreased the time it took to issue permits, ensured compliance to federal and state regulations, and made sure that the public’s right to be informed and participate were met. The team’s efforts stand as model for aligning and streamlining large-scale public projects. The members of this team were Greg Pope (team lead), Keith Kooker, Steve Smailer, Jennifer Pongratz, Anthony Hummel, Brian Ashby, Bonnie Arvay, Robert Palmer, Virgil Holmes, Bob Haynes, John Schneider, Tricia Arndt, and Kate Fleming

For more information, please visit https://dhr.delaware.gov/training/award/team/