City of Rehoboth Beach Municipal Election Results August 12

August 12th, 2017

The City of Rehoboth Beach Municipal Election was held Saturday, August 12, 2017, and the results are in for the mayor's seat and the two available commissioner seats. Paul Kuhns won the mayor race. Incumbent Kathy McGuiness and newcomer Lisa Schlosser were elected commissioners.

There are 1,706 registered voters for 2017. This Saturday there were a total of 879 walk-in voters and 436 absentee voters, bringing a grand total of 1,315 voters in Rehoboth Beach.

Five individuals ran for office. For the office of mayor, Paul Kuhns collected 761 votes, and Sam Cooper collected 543 votes. For the two commissioner seats open, Kathy McGuiness collected 903 votes, Lisa Schlosser collected 706 votes, and Susan Gay collected 637 votes.

The winners will be sworn into office on Friday, September 15, 2017, at the regular commissioners meeting before they begin to serve three-year terms.